India Craft week announced its 4th International craft awards at Bikaner House Delhi


@ Vikas Sharma | Sr Journalist

India craft week, an initiative of Delhi based social venture Craft Village – member of World Craft Council -APR, in partnership with the British Council announced 4th International Craft awards on the concluding day of the grand occasion.
International Craft Awards is a tribute to the craftspersons, artisans, designers, craft personal,individuals, organizations and companies for their outstanding contribution to the Craft Industry.The occasion marked the presence of eminent people of the industry, personalities of the craft sector, dignitaries from various embassies. Few names to mention are Shrimati Iti Tyagi, Founder – Craft Village & India Craft Week, Sachidanand Joshi, Member Secretary – Indira Gandhi National, Centre for Arts; Padma Bhushan Shri Rajeev Sethi, Shrimati Jaya Jaitley, Shrimati Deepika Jindal, Jan Thompson – British Deputy High Commissioner to India, etc.
On a stellar evening, OYO Rooms was felicitated for supporting the stay for 100 artisans during the entire occasion. The award ceremony began with the first category of the night – Craft Revivalist of the year, which was bagged by the Kalyan Joshi from India. Muthumadigane Wasantha from Sri Lanka was awarded the Craftsperson of the Year (Male). The award for Craftsperson of the year (Female) went to Brinda Dudhat from India.

The Craft Designer of the year (Established) was given to Gholamali Etminan Ghasrodashti from Iran. The award for craft designer of the year (GEN-NEXT) went to Rahmi Bin Bujang from Malaysia. Kraft Corridor from India won Craft Brand of the year (APPAREL). The award for CRAFT Brand of the year (JEWELLERY) went to Hema Sarda from India. The award for Craft Brand of the year (LIFESTYLE) was given to ISAK FRAGRANCES of India. The next category is MASTER ARTISAN OF THE YEAR (MALE). This year two winners were selected: the first winner was ARROJUASHOK (India). The second winner of Master Artisan of the year (Male) was given to Zholaushy Turdugulov from Kazakhstan. Niru Chhabra from India was given Master Artisan of the year (FEMALE). The IKTPD from Malaysia clinched the Institute of Academy of the year. The award for Organisation Or Company for Business Development of the Craft sector was given to Asephi Indonesia. Irthi Contemporary Crafts Council from the United Arab Emirates and Jerusalem Girls Association from Palestine Jerusalem were selected for best Organisation for Sustainable Development of the craft sector. The award for Craft icon of the year was taken by HER MAJESTY GUSTI KANJENG RATU HEMAS – HRH Queen Hemas from Indonesia. The award for lifetime achievement for a Government Representative was bagged by the Ministry of Tourism, Arts & Culture from Malaysia. The award for Village of the year went to Kraf Komuniti Ku, Kepala Bendang Village from Malaysia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here